The Best Paper Award Committee for Micro-45 have selected papers/presentations/posters for the best paper/presentation/poster award recognitions.

Best Paper Award Committee Membership

Selection Process

The committee followed a rigorous procedure to select the best paper. They rigorously evaluated all papers before, during, and after the conference, focusing on eight candidates specifically (which were determined by the Program Committee, the reviewers, and the shepherds). None of the committee members had a conflict of interest with the eight candidate papers, although all of the 40 Micro-45 papers were eligible for the best paper award.

During the conference, the committee evaluated all the papers in multiple ways, based on:

After the conference, the committee members continued discussions via email and arrived at the decisions via multiple rounds of voting

You can find more information on the selection process in the following presentations on the Micro website:

Program Chair's Remarks
PDF: Includes a discussion of and statistics on the selection procedure of all papers
Program Chair's Closing Remarks
PDF: Includes a discussion of the selection procedure of the best lightning session presentation

You can also find a video of the lightning session along with the slides:
Video, Slides

Best Paper/Presentation/Poster Recognitions

The following recognitions were decided by the Best Paper Award Committee.

Best Paper Award:

MorphCore: An Energy-Efficient Microarchitecture for High Performance ILP and High Throughput TLP, Khubaib (UT Austin), Aater Suleman (Calxeda/HPS), Milad Hashemi (UT Austin), Chris Wilkerson (Intel Labs), and Yale Patt (UT Austin)

Citation: "This paper was selected for the best paper award, based on conceptual novelty and anticipated long term impact. It attempts to solve a general problem: that of balancing single-thread performance against throughput performance using a single "morphable" core. The approach is different from prior work in that the starting point is a complex core, from which an energy-efficient, multi-threaded core is systematically (or justifiably) derived."

Best Paper Runners Up:

Cache-Conscious Wavefront Scheduling, Timothy G. Rogers (University of British Columbia), Mike O'Connor (AMD Research), and Tor M. Aamodt (University of British Columbia)
Fundamental Latency Trade-offs in Architecting DRAM Caches, Moinuddin Qureshi (Georgia Institute of Technology), Gabriel H. Loh (AMD Research)

Best Lightning Session Presentation Award:

Adrian Sampson (University of Washington), Neural Acceleration for General-Purpose Approximate Programs

Best Lightning Session Presentation Runners Up:

Rustam Miftakhutdinov (UT Austin), Predicting Performance Impact of DVFS for Realistic Memory System
Tim Rogers (University of British Columbia), Cache-Conscious Wavefront Scheduling

Best Poster Award:

The committee, in consultation with the Program Chair, decided not to give a Best Poster Award this year as it was not possible to reach a fair decision.