The 53rd International Symposium on Microarchitecture® invites participation in the ACM Student Research Competition (SRC). Sponsored by Microsoft, the SRC is a forum for undergraduates and graduate students to share their research results, exchange ideas and improve their communication skills while competing for prizes. Students accepted to participate in the SRC are entitled to a travel grant (up to $500) to help cover travel expenses.

Important Dates & Information

  • Submission Deadline: July 25, 2020 at 11:59 PM PDT
  • Notification: August 28, 2020

The top 3 undergraduate and graduate winners will receive the following prizes:
  1. Monetary prizes of $500, $300 and $200, respectively.
  2. A framed grand finalist certificate.
  3. The names of the winners will be posted on the website.

In addition, the first-place winner in each category (undergraduate, graduate) will receive an invitation to participate in the SRC Grand Finals, an online round of competitions among the first-place winners of individual conference-hosted SRCs. Three undergraduates and three graduates will be chosen among them as the SRC Grand Finals winners. They are invited, along with their advisors, to the annual ACM Awards Banquet, where they receive formal recognition.

The SRC consists of two rounds: a poster session and a presentation session. Submissions recommended for acceptance by the selection committee will be invited to a first-round poster session to be held during MICRO 2020. A panel of judges will select a number of finalists from the poster session held at the symposium, who will be invited to a second-round SRC presentation session at MICRO 2020 and compete for the prizes. The evaluation will be concentrated on the quality of both visual and oral presentation, the research methods and the significance of contribution. You can find more information on the ACM Student Research Competition website.


A participant and submission in the SRC must meet all the following conditions:

  • The participant must submit an abstract PDF (optionally, blind) of up to 800 words outlining the content of a poster that is going to be presented during the competition.
  • The submission entry must include the poster title, author names, affiliation and the name of the academic advisor. The abstract may be authored by more than one student. However, only the lead student (first author) is considered as a participant in the SRC competition and must satisfy the eligibility criteria described here. Undergraduate students may present team projects. If a graduate student is part of a group research project, they may only present their part of the research.
  • The submission entry should describe the research problem, motivation and background, techniques and results, and the prospect for clearly and concisely conveying the work in a poster format.
  • It should state the novelty and contributions of the work explicitly.
  • The abstract must have not appeared before. Novelty is one of the criteria for selection.
  • The abstract and the poster must be authored by the participant.
  • The participant can be from anywhere in the world but must be an ACM student member and must maintain an undergraduate or graduate student status as of the submission deadline.
  • You may join ACM prior to entering. Basic student membership is $19 per year or less.
  • SRC allows parallel submissions of full papers in other conferences, as long as they abide by self-plagiarism rules (e.g., at least 30% of both the SRC abstract and the other publication is unique). That is, any paper needs to be a minimum of 30% different than a prior paper. Thus a full-length version of a paper would have to be at least 30% different than a SRC submission. Again, self-plagiarism rules would still be in effect. For each accepted SRC poster, the abstract will be posted on the MICRO 2020 website. The content, however, can be included in a future submission to other conferences or journals.

Submission Information

Extended abstracts of up to 800 words should be submitted no later than July 17, 2020 July 25, 2020 at 11:59 PM PDT. In your submission, please indicate whether you are an undergraduate or a graduate student.

SRC Organization

SRC Co-Chairs Affiliation
Yasuko Eckert AMD
Osman Unsal Barcelona Supercomputing Center

Selection Committee

Committee Member Affiliation
Morteza Biglari Abhari University of Auckland
Carmen G. Almudéver Delft University of Technology
Newsha Ardalani Baidu Research
Rajeev Balasubramonian University of Utah
Michaela Blott Xilinx
Caroline Collange INRIA
John Davis Barcelona Supercomputing Center
Stephan Diestelhorst Xilinx
Onur Kayiran AMD
Gokcen Kestor Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Adam Morrison Tel Aviv University
Onur Mutlu ETH Zürich
Miquel Pericas Chalmers University of Technology
Minsoo Rhu KAIST
Cristina Silvano Politecnico di Milano
Viji Srinavasan IBM Research
Caroline Trippel Stanford
Gulay Yalcin Abdullah Gul University
Mengjia Yan Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Jishen Zhao University of California, San Diego